Chick Identification Appreciated!

Our chicks are proving to be such fun! We love to watch them and I have had a good time trying to figure out their genders. I still don’t know for certain on most of them. That will come soon enough, I guess. πŸ™‚

I know I have some veteran chicken keepers among my readers and would love it if any of you could help me identify the breeds. They are about 10 days old, assuming I got them when they were 3 days. The following are not all my chicks, but the ones not pictured are either “repeats” or Naked Necks (easy enough to identify!). I’ve numbered them in case anyone out there recognizes a breed.

Even if you have no idea, perhaps you’ll enjoy getting a closer look at some of them!

 

1. Blessed Hope Farm

1. Blessed Hope Farm

2. Blessed Hope Farm

2. Blessed Hope Farm

3. Blessed Hope Farm

3. Blessed Hope Farm

4. Blessed Hope Farm

4. Blessed Hope Farm

5. Blessed Hope Farm

5. Blessed Hope Farm

 

6. Blessed Hope Farm

6. Blessed Hope Farm

7. Blessed Hope Farm

7. Blessed Hope Farm

8. Blessed Hope Farm (smaller than #4)

8. Blessed Hope Farm (smaller than #4)

The one above has more wing feathers and tail feathers than its larger friend shown in 4. Both have grayish black legs with a little yellow on toes and bottom of feet.

I had one more, but for some reason it is refusing to upload so, after three tries…I give up. It looks like number 5 only smaller and without the white on its wings.

Thanks so much for any help or comments you can provide!

Blessings,

Marcia

 

5 thoughts on “Chick Identification Appreciated!

  1. I don’t know, but your #2 appears to be a twin of one of mine! Right down to the “eyeliner” that continues horizontally on the side of her face. I purchased it as an Aracauna/Americauna hybrid. It’s about a week old. It’s supposed to be a pullet, but today I noticed it has some pretty strong tail feathers coming in. You never know! I’d love to find out what they are. Two that I purchased last spring from the same place were labeled as Aracauna. They aren’t, because they don’t have tails, and they don’t lay blue eggs. They lay green eggs. I still love them, and they have been so healthy and wonderful! I would like to get some blue eggs, so I got the new little one along with a Buff Orpington to keep it company until they are old enough to live in the real coop! I’m looking forward to seeing what yours are! They are all wonderful! #5 is especially intriguing! I hope you’ll post pictures of them when they’re grown! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for stopping by Lori! This was actually posted last May so they are all grown up now. πŸ™‚ #5 is a red sex link rooster. #2 I think grew up to be a brown leghorn hen. In fact they all were roosters but 3 brown leghorns. We still
      have all of them pictured in this post except for one black one. It died before we could tell if it was male or female.

Leave a Reply

